Dr. Leonard Sax chairs NASSPE's governing board. As of January 2013, the members of the NASSPE Advisory Board are (in alphabetical order):

Brad Adams, executive director of the International Boys' Schools Coalition

Skyles Calhoun is principal at Woodbridge Middle School in Woodbridge, Virginia. His school has offered single-gender classrooms since 2006. Despite changing demographics and budget cuts, he has succeeded in boosting academic achievement at his school, for which he was recognized in the May 2012 issue of Principal Leadership. As Mr. Calhoun observed in that article, the single-gender format makes it easier for teachers "to customize instruction to maximize learning for each student." You can download a PDF of the May 2012 article about Mr. Calhoun's school by clicking on this link.

Professor Margaret Ferrara, of the University of Nevada Reno. Professor Ferrara is editor of Advances in Gender and Education, a new peer-reviewed scholarly journal. She was also a featured presenter at our 2009 international conference in Atlanta, and at our 2010 international conference in Nevada. She gave two presentations at our 2011 conference in Orlando. You may contact Professor Ferrara directly with queries about the journal: go to her personal web site, which is www.DrMMFerrara.com, and click on "How May I Assist You?"

Gerald J. Grossman , head of school at the Woodlands Academy of the Sacred Heart, a girls' Catholic school in Lake Forest, Illinois.

Elizabeth "Bette" Heins is Professor of Education at Stetson University in Deland, Florida. Professor Heins and her Stetson colleagues Professor Kathy Piechura, Professor Mercedes Tichenor , and Doug MacIsaac have all given presentations at our NASSPE conferences in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, and 2011. All four are members of the NASSPE Advisory Board, reflecting the leadership of Stetson University in the field of single-gender education.

Beverly Hibbler is principal of Detroit International Academy, a girls' public school in Detroit.

Abigail Norfleet James is Adjunct Professor of Education at the University of Virginia, Northern Virginia Center. Professor James is the author of Teaching the Male Brain, published in 2007, and Teaching the Female Brain, published in 2009. She was also a featured speaker at our NASSPE conferences in 2007, 2008, 2009, and 2011. More information is available at Professor James' web site.

Jennifer Madigan, associate professor, San Jose State University, San Jose, California.

Benjamin Wright, was formerly principal of the Thurgood Marshall Elementary School in Seattle, Washington; for three years Regional Supervisor of Victory Schools in Philadelphia; and appointed in the summer of 2007 to be Chief Administrative Officer for Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools. He is currently Superintendent for Alternative Education in the Philadelphia public schools. Mr. Wright hosted our NASSPE Northeast conference in October 2006, and was a featured speaker at our 2007 international conference in Illinois as well as at our 2008 international conference in Memphis. He presented again at our 2009 international conference in Atlanta and at our 2011 conference in Orlando. You can contact Mr. Wright via his his Web site

Roynell Young, founder and CEO of Pro-Vision, a public charter school for boys in South Houston. In 2008, the New York Times profiled Mr. Young and his school in a feature article entitled Winning Against Hopelessness.


Contact us

Top of this page


Search the entire NASSPE Web site


designed by comunaware.com